//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Thank you from “between the years”!

Between the years is a literal translation of the German phrase zwischen den Jahren which denotes the time between Christmas and the New Year´s Eve. I do understand how the phrase was coined and that a similar concept exists in other countries. But that doesn´t prevent my imagination from trying to create a concrete image of this rather unusual time “between the years”: an image ranging from spooky to splendid.

Joking aside, it is a particular time of the year indeed. I hope for all of you the days spent “between the years” are more on the splendid than on the spooky side 🙂

For me it has offered the calm and space for thoughts, reading and conversations long pushed back. This seems almost a luxury in the fast-paced day-to-day life and often stressful holiday seasons. Admittedly, I didn´t manage to fully avoid the holiday hecticness, but reached a new height in coming closer to achieving it.

2012 has been an intense and remarkable year for me in so many aspects. I was part of amazing experiences (both work-related and private), dared to do quite a few new things that had scared me and had wonderful people around who shared the last 365 days with me either virtually or in person (or both). And to them I am endlessly thankful for the inspiration, support and understanding.

I wish I could give you all a big hug and thank you in person, but since this is not possible please accept this humble hand-written note as a substitute (the in-person hug will follow sooner or later :-)).

Thank you

I wish everyone a healthy, happy and inspiring 2013!

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Thank you from “between the years”!

  1. I think the hug thing worked! At least, I felt some poking sensation while reading your lines. (On second guess, might have to do with the shortness of last night and my still poking head…)
    No, let’s get sirious: thank you so much for your kind words! You are such a great and inspiring person and spending time with you always is MY pleasure. Let’s have much more of it in 2013! 🙂 Big hug and all the best!

    Posted by Eva | January 1, 2013, 8:03 pm
  2. Eva,
    it´s my turn to thank you for your kind words! And I think I also felt your virtual hug just now while reading your comment.
    But let´s get serious and admit that an in-person hug is the better version ;-), and so are our meetings and conversations in person which are MY pleasure as well. So look forward to many more in 2013! 🙂

    Posted by irinapashina | January 1, 2013, 8:20 pm
  3. A late response, and we are not between the years – but slid into the New Year. Thank you for the virtual Hug, and hug you back! I love that you did things that “scared” you! Hope you do more and more daring things, to the extent that we call you “Darina”. 😉 Have a great year ahead, dear girl.

    Posted by Devyani | January 8, 2013, 11:01 am

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

