//
you're reading...
Experiences

(Re)Discovery 4: Conversations

“Conversation. What is it? A Mystery! It’s the art of never seeming bored, of touching everything with interest, of pleasing with trifles, of being fascinating with nothing at all.”
Guy de Maupassant

I just finished an unexpected, long, and genuine conversation with someone I hardly knew at all. A conversation which turned out to be one of the most surprising exchange of opinions, observations, and ideas I had recently. It left me inspired and wondering what the essence of conversing really is.

Author: Mr. Seafall (own work); CC BY-SA 3.0 license; via Wikimedia Commons

Author: Mr. Seafall (own work); CC BY-SA 3.0 license; via Wikimedia Commons


(Re)Discovering conversations over the years – across cultures, languages, fears, expectations – has been and is an incredibly enriching experience for me. It’s a mystery how conversations can evolve and make us feel. They can be boring, funny, weird, dull, inspiring, beautiful… What is certain is that a genuine dialog goes beyond the mere communication/exchange of words and requires openness and common ground. And I feel there is something more to it. Something that can turn even a ‘simple’ conversation into a source of ideas, learning, inspiration, great deeds and sentiments.

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

4 thoughts on “(Re)Discovery 4: Conversations

  1. Fully agree! Conversations are more powerful (as are words) than most people believe. I guess though that a certain level of reflection is required in order to realize it. It never seizes to amaze me how a single conversation can change your whole life. On top of that, can’t believe how often it happens. But even if that’s not the case, as long as a conversation is substantial, it is going to make you feel better, probably for various obvious reasons.

    Another interesting thought in that context – what is the best way to politely end a conversation that simply bores you (I mean, you can’t always just say that you got an urgent appointment :D)? I have to say, it happens a lot to me and I usually tend to end it by being very direct. That in turn tends to insult my counterpart. I mean, what do you expect when you end a conversation by stating that the topic bores you and/or you just don’t care^^?!

    Posted by sharpxs | July 27, 2013, 8:15 pm
    • Lars ji,
      if I may add to the topic of substantial, eye-opening conversations – they can only happen based on a certain level of connection and require openness and willingness to listen and relate. I am fortunate to have had many of these (including with you) and could not agree more that they are so valuable and powerful to the extent that they can truly help us change our perception and see our world differently.
      As for the polite way to end a boring conversation… Hmmm, it depends on the cultural and personal setting. I believe I am at the other extreme ending such talks very indirectly, always trying not to insult my counterpart. You are right, the urgent appointment trick doesn’t work all the time 😀

      Posted by irinapashina | July 27, 2013, 9:06 pm
      • I totally second that! Openness, the willingness to listen and to relate are essential! I am of course glad that you consider our conversations valuable:).
        Re the polite way – being indirect wouldn’t work for me, I’m afraid. I guess there’s just no general recipe for it:-/…

        Posted by sharpxs | July 27, 2013, 9:54 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Discovery 27: Pointless Worries | impressions - August 31, 2013

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

