//
you're reading...
Experiences

Discovery 7: Authenticity

“The privilege of a lifetime is to become who you truly are.”
C.G. Jung

In theory, the simplest way to behave would be to simply be ourselves: true to our own personality, and to what we think and believe at any point in time. And yet remaining true to ourselves can be a real challenge at times – with all the people we connect to in one way or another, all situations and emotional states we go through, and with the way we change and develop.

But truth (and my firm belief) is that, in the end, authenticity is always the better, and many times the only, option on the way of becoming who we truly are. I know we all have been in a situation in which we doubted this statement. It took me a while and quite a number of (re)discoveries to resolve my own doubts about it.

The fear of being/showing who we really are and/or the desire to build up a (slightly) different perception of ourselves for whatever reason might make authenticity seem almost impossible… And it does take courage and persistence to remain true to who we are and what we aspire to. But it’s a journey worth embarking on, the journey of discovering authenticity in its full splendor. Do you want to join?

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Discovery 7: Authenticity

  1. As always a very nice piece of thinking and writing. In this case I cannot fully follow you, though. I find that I am not “myself” in a static way. Fortunately I am not the same as I was a couple of years ago, and I hope I will not be the same tomorrow. Insisting on autenticits can become a refusal to adapt, change, learn and grow. I am happily inauthentic.

    Posted by hajovonkracht | July 25, 2013, 7:20 am
    • Thanks, Hajo. You are right – insisting on being authentic to a static self (just for the sake of consistence) actually denotes lack of authenticity since we (fortunately!) do change and develop over time. My point was that an endeavor to be true to our ‘current’ self and way of thinking is worth it and can make our communication, relationships, our (micro-)world more truthful and genuine.

      Posted by irinapashina | July 25, 2013, 8:13 am
  2. Freud described the psyche as composed by 3 parts: Id, ego and super-ego. I know it’s not really a modern view of the psyche, but for illustration purposes it nicely shows the problem. They are all a part of ourselves, yet there is appeal in subordinating the superego to the id. But aren’t the instincts that drive you forward as authentic as the ones that temper (over) enthusiasm? And aren’t those that drive you to conform as true as those that drive you to follow your present instincts?

    Posted by Sometwo | July 25, 2013, 9:34 am
    • Hi Sometwo,
      thanks for your comment and for adding a different perspective to the topic and conversation. It is certainly a much more complex interplay than we might think in which instincts and ego play an important role.

      Posted by irinapashina | July 27, 2013, 8:38 pm
  3. Very interesting discussion going on here, I have to say! In a certain way, I do second your opinion, Irina ji, as well as Hajo’s. Also, I can find truth in SOMETWO’s statement.
    I believe that authenticity is very important. I also believe that change/personal development is important. Now, these two are not mutually exclusive, as far as I am concerned. I can be authentic and I can realize that some of the premises my thoughts and behaviors are based on no longer make sense to me. It is a sign of strength to me, being able to change thoughts and behavior after having realized that one is wrong.
    The ego – I find this to be off a very disturbing nature, because it keeps on telling you what you’re supposed to like, what you’re supposed to need, etc.. But it won’t make you happy eventually.

    I read a nice quote these days on Facebook. It said: “If you’re not fitting in, you’re probably doing something right.”. That, to me, describes perfectly well, what authenticity is about.

    Posted by sharpxs | July 27, 2013, 7:30 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: (Re)Discovery 9: Words (don’t) matter | impressions - July 27, 2013

  2. Pingback: impressions - May 25, 2015

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

