//
you're reading...
Experiences

Discovery 12: Watermelons

I love watermelons. Their sweet taste. Their bright colors. Their refreshing smell.

Author: Steve Evans; CC BY 2.0 license; via Wikimedia Commons

Author: Steve Evans; CC BY 2.0 license; via Wikimedia Commons


Another reason for me to like them is the memory they bring back reminding me of how I ‘discovered’ a watermelon. When I was about two-three years old, I was given the chance to hold a watermelon on my own for the first time in my life. I was bursting with pride to be able to perform this particularly important task, but at the same time I was also eager to find out more about this green, round object I was holding so tightly. It occurred to me that the best way to do that would be to play with it and since it was round, I thought it could be similar to other round objects… like balls. So I dropped it on the floor of our living room happily waiting for it to bounce back. Seconds later, I was looking at the two inert watermelon halves with dismay and great disappointment. It was certainly not what I expected, but I discovered it on my own.

Now I strive for keeping this curiosity and pure ‘discovery’ attitude alive. And sometimes eating watermelon helps.

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Discovery 12: Watermelons

  1. I love your story, Irina! And I love watermelons too. To me, they remind of childhood in my grandparents´ village, where watermelons were huge, sweet, delicious, and where my grandpa used to select the seeds of the best watermelons to plant the next ones.. Another re-discovery for me nowadays is how my little son enjoys and eats tons of watermelon! And I enjoy watching him eat.

    Posted by Olivia Falkenstein | August 1, 2013, 8:05 am

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

