//
you're reading...
Books, Experiences

Discovery 14: “The Days Go by”…

Another day went by… and today I feel it’s time to share Mirabeau Bridge (a poem by Guillaume Apollinaire). A poem I often go back to. Every time I read it, I seem to discover yet another nuance to it… and to how I feel in that particular moment. About time, uncertainty, love, fatigue, meaning, elusiveness, momentariness, distance, proximity… Life!

Try a ‘walk’ on Guillaume Apollinaire’s Mirabeau Bridge and see for yourself.

Mirabeau Bridge
by Guillaume Apollinaire
translated by Donald Revell

Under Mirabeau Bridge the river slips away
And lovers
Must I be reminded
Joy came always after pain

The night is a clock chiming
The days go by not I

We’re face to face and hand in hand
While under the bridges
Of embrace expire
Eternal tired tidal eyes

The night is a clock chiming
The days go by not I

Love elapses like the river
Love goes by
Poor life is indolent
And expectation always violent

The night is a clock chiming
The days go by not I

The days and equally the weeks elapse
The past remains the past
Love remains lost
Under Mirabeau Bridge the river slips away

The night is a clock chiming
The days go by not I

Source: http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/16218

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

