//
you're reading...
Experiences

Discovery 16: Perseverance

“Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst.”
Henri Cartier-Bresson

In a world of (instant) admiration for effortless brilliance, perseverance might seem obsolete and ‘uncool’.

‘Continued effort to do or achieve something despite difficulties, failure, or opposition’: this is how the Merriam-Webster dictionary defines perseverance. Even just the mere definition conveys a sense of arduousness, perhaps even sophistication to some extent…

Over the years I discovered that the opposite might be true. Perseverance is without a doubt very closely related to effort(s), but does not necessarily need to imply tedious actions or to require an infinite willpower.
In my case perseverance contributed to not leaving room for a lurking sense of despair in many instances. Even before I could begin to think how miserable I was, I knew I could count on my persistence. Of course, at times it didn’t react so quickly, but still was able to replace any other perturbing thoughts in no time.

Mind you, I am not an overly optimistic person. Neither do I trust that discipline and resolution are the only keys to achieving a goal. I simply believe that trying and working hard can get us there in the end. Besides, the reward that comes with persevering is worth more than the temporary relief of deciding not to continue doing something.

Paraphrasing Henri Cartier-Bresson‘s quote I could assume that my first 10,000 blog posts might be my worst. It sounds like a great challenge for my perseverance. When did you put yours to the test for the last time?

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Discovery 16: Perseverance

  1. Perseverance was part of my life for about 30 years. Then I realised something that (hopefully) has changed my life forever: Perseverance is good if achieving the goal is entirely up to you. But most of the times you can only do 50 percent while the missing 50 percent are up to someone other than you. If the other person is not willing to make an effort and meet half way there is no point in persevering, be it in your personal life or in business. I hope I will be wise enough to recognise when its worth the effort and when simply its not.
    Given that your blog is entirely up to you, please, please bear the challenge. I am sure the first 10,000 entries will be a piece of cake. 🙂

    Posted by Eva | August 7, 2013, 3:41 pm
    • Eva, thanks for your comment and for pointing out a different aspect of the subject. Recognizing if persevering is worth it or not is certainly key in both personal and professional matters. Defining how important a certain goal is for us, distinguishing our own part in achieving it from the part others (people, circumstances, etc.) play is and remaining somewhat realistics about that – all these can help us make a well-grounded decision in favor or against perseverance. It sounds easy… On paper… In a blog. But it’s not! I trust we both will know better and find it less difficult after my 10,001st blog post 🙂

      Posted by irinapashina | August 7, 2013, 8:07 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Discovery 23: (Self-)Contradictions | impressions - August 17, 2013

  2. Pingback: What a mess! | impressions - March 27, 2014

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

