//
you're reading...
Experiences

Discovery 26: ‘See You Soon!’

‘See you soon!’ is probably the most hopeful and cordial way to say good-bye. It can please us implying that we would meet that person again. It can make us sad if we know it is unlikely that our paths cross another time. It can leave us indifferent as a simple expression of courtesy. Or it can be anything in-between.

Good-bye words might or might not matter, but farewells definitely do. Finding out if and how to deal with them beyond a mere ‘see you soon!’ statement is a true journey of discovery. Not easy, but necessary.

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Discovery 26: ‘See You Soon!’

  1. Your post reminds me of the very common “let´s meet sometimes!” – where you and the other person know very well that you don´t actually intend to take any initiative to meet. So I promised me over and over again that, when I say this to someone, or when somebody says this to me and I hapily agree, I will take some action to make it happen. No, I am still not able to meet that self-promise (or all those aquaintances), and I wonder, why do we always have to be so polite and propose stuff that sounds nice, but we never put it into practice?!

    Posted by Olivia Falkenstein | August 27, 2013, 12:19 pm
    • Hi Olivia,

      while I was thinking about the topic and writing the post, it struck me how many different aspects a ‘see you soon!’ statement can have. You mention one of them that has a lot to do with cultural conventions and personality. It’s also a matter of habit to a certain extent. A habit that you are trying to change. I noticed that my attitude towards it also changed over the years after many ‘see you soon!’s…

      Posted by irinapashina | August 27, 2013, 7:16 pm

What do you think?

