//
you're reading...
Experiences

Discovery 27: Pointless Worries

‘Drag your thoughts away from your troubles… by the ears, by the heels, or any other way you can manage it.’
Mark Twain

I tend to worry. I worry. Actually, I worry a lot. I have been worrying ever since I can remember – about family, friends, strangers, exams, job, the universe. Or about insignificant matters. The latter accompany me most of the time:

  • during the night I worry I would wake up on time (even though I haven’t overslept!)
  • in the morning if public transportation would take me to my destination on time
  • during the day if I would live up to my expectations
  • in the evening if I would be able to finish all planned activities
  • …………………………………………………………

All of these worries are pointless, I know. But the more I tell myself not to pay attention to them, the more I do. Fortunately there is so much more out there beyond “Don’t worry!” to ‘drag my thoughts away from my worries’. Conversations, reading, writing, dreaming, courage, human connections, art, dance, self-awareness… What are your ways to go about useless concerns?

Author: Ludovic Bertron; CC BY 2.0 license; via Wikimedia Commons

Author: Ludovic Bertron; CC BY 2.0 license; via Wikimedia Commons

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Discovery 27: Pointless Worries

  1. I use to have a problem with worrying as well. But there was this scripture in the bible that really put my mind at ease. It’s Matthew 6:25-34 (http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew+6%3A25-34&version=NIV) and it’s basically talking about how we shouldn’t worry about the small things. Just trust in God to be in control and just focus on today instead of so much of what’s to happen in the future. Every time I feel like I’m about to go into a worry frenzy, I think about how God is still in control over every situation in my life no matter how helpless I might feel. I’ve came a long way from worrying since I’ve came to grips with that message as I continue to pray for peace.

    I wish you the best in dealing with your worries. Life is too short to worry about every little thing =)

    Posted by LetmebeRae | September 1, 2013, 12:39 am
    • Hi Rae,

      thanks for your comment and for sharing how you deal with your worries.
      Indeed, life is too short and precious to worry about every little thing 🙂 and we all have our ways to go about such pointless worries.

      Kind regards,
      Irina

      Posted by irinapashina | September 3, 2013, 7:43 am

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

