//
you're reading...
Experiences

Done!

Finishing off a long postponed task has the potential of becoming a highlight of one’s day. This is what happened to me today and the feeling of relief and satisfaction overshadowed all other impressions.

I had an overview document to finalize, a task which I haven’t been able to complete for a week. Every day more important or urgent activities came up. The days of busyness simply passed by and other events, people, projects, and a slight lack of focus stopped me from working on the document. I believe I have fairly good time and task management skills, so this situation was unusual and became very irritating.

Author: L'Aquatique; CC BY-SA 3.0 license; via Wikimedia Commons

Author: L’Aquatique; CC BY-SA 3.0 license; via Wikimedia Commons


I tried all my ‘tricks’ – blocked time on my calendar, schedule to do it as a first thing in the morning, created social pressure by talking about it, committed to a deadline – and managed to complete and hand it over today. That was probably the loudest Done! I have exclaimed in a long time. It’s impressive how small tasks can impede our work-related happiness and how satisfying the word Done! can be when completed. Having said that, I hope you don’t come across (m)any postponed tasks and wish you a quick path to the level ‘done!’ in case you do.

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Done!

  1. Social pressure you say? that´s a trick I didn´t know 🙂 in the last time I re-brought my “urgent/important” quadrant at work, as the mere list of to-dos was driving me crazy. It works better as I really manage to focus on the important stuff. And indeed that feeling of “done” is so good… almost as good as a piece of chocolate 🙂

    Posted by Olivia Falkenstein | April 3, 2014, 1:02 pm
    • Hey Olivia,
      yes, social pressure is an old trick of mine which works very well for me 🙂 Great to hear that you manage to focus on the more important stuff. Gauging the urgent/important level is a good foundation. I still have days when I feel the seemigly important (but actually unimportant) and urgent tasks are taking over, but a quick re-assessment helps me stay on track in most of the times and gives me time to enjoy a piece of real fair trade chocolate 🙂

      Posted by irinapashina | April 3, 2014, 8:38 pm

What do you think?

