//
you're reading...
Experiences

“I want to go into consulting”

My daily commute is priceless. In most of the cases it’s an enriching experience (with a few annoying exceptions) as it lets me be part of the variety of life and often provides room and food for thought.

On my way home today I overheard a conversation of two students. Both of them about to graduate, they talked about their career plans. I was tired and lost in thought, when a statement shared with firm determination and raised voice caught my attention: ‘I want to go into consulting. If I don’t get a job at this company, I’ll try in other places. I want to be in consulting no matter what.’

Author: Shokunin; via Wikimedia Commons

Author: Shokunin; via Wikimedia Commons


The other student was less determined and willing to give different job options a try. Their different attitudes reminded me of many situations I have experienced. I know the powerful effect of determination on me and other people when I want to achieve something at any cost. But I also learned to appreciate the freedom and new possibilities hidden in the process of searching. It might sound counterintuitive, but they both can contribute to self-fulfillment. Whatever attitude you might have right now, I wish you lots of fun and best of luck!

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

