//
you're reading...
Experiences

Tra-la-la

A woman was humming an unrecognizable refrain next to me on the bus today. Lost in thought and a little tired as I was, this unexpected sound surprised me. It was an early morning of an ordinary day. Why would anyone want to happily hum in public transportation?

PD-US-NO NOTICE; via Wikimedia Commons

PD-US-NO NOTICE; via Wikimedia Commons


After looking at her, I realized that she was simply in a good mood and expressed it through humming. She was not disturbing anyone with the almost inaudible tune, so there was nothing wrong about it, right? And still, she earned quite a few weird looks from fellow passengers (including my first confused look). I gave her a second look and remembered a number of instances in which I regrettably jumped to conclusions. Judgemental opinions seem like a second nature too often, don’t they? In most of the cases giving a second look proves them wrong and helps us accept difference. Difference that challenges inexorable attitudes and points of view and makes the world a slightly better place.

I smiled at the humming lady and embraced her good mood. And I’ll do my best to remember the lesson.

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

