//
you're reading...
Experiences

I’m Back. Lucky You.

I haven’t been here for a very long time. Since my New Year’s post, to be precise. It was the lack of time or energy, major changes, and worries that prevented me from being present in this space. The last months have been tough for many reasons. If I have to be very open to you, I was physically and mentally tired. The many drafts have been patiently waiting for me to polish and publish them. I feel guilty for not making them shine, but the fatigue and other (perceived) deterrents have been stronger.

Surrounded by hustle and bustle, I had yet another last-minute, important task to complete yesterday night. I turned on some music, sat on the floor and started working on a flip chart with sticky notes. While writing an item on a light blue piece of paper, I heard a known melody “there’s nothing you can do… lucky you”. One of my favorite songs by The National.

I had it in the playlist three times and when the third one ended, I played it again, and again, and again. I love the atmosphere it creates and the journey it takes you on. For some reason, the “lucky you” part stayed with me for quite some time. Indeed, lucky me… for the privilege to have wonderful people around me in challenging times, for the persistence to pursue meaning and knowledge, for having the chance to come back here and to other places I love. I’m happy to be back. I hope you have plenty of reasons to consider yourself lucky too. In fact, I’m sure you do.

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

