//
you're reading...
Experiences, People

Today’s Ambition, Tomorrow’s…?

“Tomorrow lurks in us, the latency to be all that was not achieved before.”
Loren Eiseley

I came across this quote while reading the news during my daily commute this week. The train drivers in Germany are on strike (again!), so I was standing in a packed train early in the morning mulling over ambition. It sounds absurd, I know, but isn’t life full of absurd stories and circumstances?

German train, Heidelberg

Author: Maxim75; CC BY-SA 3.0 license; via Wikimedia Commons

Ambition is something I’ve been thinking a lot in the last year. The strong desire for advancement or activity has always played an important role in my life. In fact, I wouldn’t have been where I am and wouldn’t have had the chance to do what I do, hadn’t that been the case. There is something about ambition, though, that can make it a boon and/or a burden. When paired with impatience, as it often happens to me, it can become unbearable. Linked with persistence and discipline, as it often happens to me, it can turn into a powerful way to achieve goals. So where and when does ambition need to start and stop? There is no easy answer to this question, but it’s important to ask it if you have difficulties dealing with the presence or absence of ambition.

You can argue that reflecting on such questions in a full train early in the morning is not the best place and time to do that. Probably it was my ambition again that made me be active, take advantage of the time and think about tomorrow’s possibilities. Where has ambition taken you?

About irinapashina

Marketing professional, blogger, group fitness instructor, reader, theater-goer

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

